Skip to main content

University of Macedonia

In its sixth decade of operation, the University of Macedonia, the continuity of the historical Graduate School of Industrial Studies of Thessaloniki, is a modern state Higher Education institution, renowned for the ambience of quality, freedom, democracy, meritocracy and individual development it provides to all its members: students, Academic and Research Staff and university employees. The Graduate School of Industrial Studies was established in 1948 and in 1958 it was renamed to “Graduate School of Industrial Studies in Thessaloniki and became equivalent with all the other Universities in Greece. University of Macedonia has 4 Schools and 8 departments: – School of Economic and Regional Studies (Department of Economics, Department of Balkan, Slavic & Oriental Studies) – School of Business Administration (Department of Business Administration, Department of Accounting and Finance) – School of Information Sciences (Department of Applied Informatics) – School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts (Department of International and European Studies, Department of Educational & Social Policy, Department of Music Science & Art). The University Departments run 33 postgraduate programs of study. The University has approximately 14,000 undergraduate and 3,300 postgraduate and PhD students. It employs 204 persons as Research and Teaching staff and 169 persons as administrative staff. The University of Macedonia is located in Thessaloniki, which is the second largest city in Greece. It is housed in a total area of approximately 40.000 square meters, consisting of amphitheaters, teaching and seminar rooms, offices and administrative sections, a restaurant,a gymnasium, a book-store and a main auditorium which is one of the most contemporary Conference Centers hosting important cultural events of the city. The University of Macedonia was ranked 5th and 6th in the annual assessment of Greek tertiary education institutions by the Hellenic Authority for Higher Education in 2020 and 2021, respectively.